Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Voters elect six Teamsters in N.J., N.Y.

Kevin McCaffrey on the campaign trail.
It was a good night to be a Teamster running for office yesterday, as six who have served their communities in New Jersey and New York were returned to office by local voters.
Joe Scott
The highest ranking of the elected officials was Kevin McCaffrey, president of Local 707, who was re-elected to serve the 14th District of the Suffolk County, N.Y. Legislature. McCarthy has a long and distinguished career in local government, beginning as a trustee and deputy mayor of the Village of Lindenhurst.
Amy Lewis
Joining McCaffrey in the winner's circle was Tom Hufnell and Joe Scott, who will be returning to the Deptford Township, N.J. council. Both men are affiliated with Local 830. Hufnell has lived in Deptford for more than 50 years and has long been involved with youth sports. Meanwhile, Scott is a 40-year resident who has been involved with aging and veterans issues.
Tom Hufnell
Amy Lewis will be serving another term on the East Orange, N.J city council. Lewis is the medical health director for Local 97 who represents more than 2,000 health care workers within the local. She sits on the executive board of the Teamsters National Black Caucus and is president of the Teamsters Black Caucus-Northern New Jersey chapter. Lewis is dedicated to working for workers' rights and working families.
Ronald Camacho
Frank Phillips will be returning to the Abescon, N.J. city council as well. A vice president and business agent for Local 331, Phillips has been actively involved in parks and recreation issues for his community, as well as public safety and public works.
Frank Phillips
And Ronald Camacho will again be a member of the Dover, N.J. Board of Alderman. Camacho, a member of Local 496, previously served as an alderman between 2002 and 2004. He works as a service tech mechanic for Region Oil in Dover and has been involved in youth sports for many years.
Congratulations to all our civic-minded Teamsters!